top of page

Black Sheep time!


Today, it's all about connections! I'm sitting here at Black Sheep Coffee on Southview Blvd. and having my coffee and watching the connections that are happening here. I wondered what it is that connects them to this place and each other and then thought of my own connections.

I lived on the corner of 11th Ave. S. and Southview Blvd. when I was young. I went to school at Central Elementary, which is where Central Square now stands. In those days, we used to either bring a bag lunch to school or walk home for lunch. I knew how to get to two places back then; school and Dairy Queen. One day, I thought I was big enough to go to Dairy Queen by myself. What I didn't know is that you needed to PAY for the ice cream. I remember looking at the ground, realizing I wasn't getting an ice cream cone when I was told how much I needed. I fell more in love with South St. Paul that day; an elderly man behind me paid for my ice cream! I will never forget the look on my mom's face when she found me on the house steps eating a Dairy Queen. :)

I married Arthur Dewey and he is a life-long SSP resident. My mother-in-law is Vera Dewey (maiden name Wille) and many know her! I just learned my mother-in-law is a a life-long resident as well. Recently, my husband took me to a pond adjacent to the Hwy 52/Southview Blvd. intersections. He showed me where his grandparents' farm used to be and, to my surprise, said his mother was born on the property!

What great connections do you have?

bottom of page