top of page

Coffee can be good for you!


At the Black Sheep again! I love this place and I love their community well-being model!

I'm not certain if Black Sheep realizes their model includes well-being, but I would bet its a part of their business model even if that's not what they call it.

What is well-being? It's a concept I'd like to pursue whether or not I'm elected to office. This concept would be applied to the community and would be accurately called "community well-being". Community well-being includes three components - the vitality of economic development, the public safety of its residents, businesses, and visitors, as well as environmental sustainability.

I'm going to bring you back to the bedtime story of Goldilocks and the three bears. One bed was too soft, another too hard, and there was one that was just right. South St. Paul has its own "just right" - more than doing nothing, but not over commercializing so that we lose our essence. It's about who we are; the people and our rich history. It's not just about textbook development - it MUST reflect our character and personality! If we accomplish this, we are in unity and that slice of community well-being is in place.

Safety is paramount. Nothing stings a community more than fear and anxiety. I don't feel we are there quite yet, but there are growing issues that need to be addressed. I am an analyzer and a strategist. I believe our answers lie within the data. We can learn a great deal from data and with that information we can plan a strategy to mitigate criminal impact. Let's also remember our community is also comprised of those with mental health issues, the disabled, and the elderly. Is our community safe for them and are we safe from those who's mental health may become a challenge? EVERYONE in our community needs to be safe and to provide more attention in this area will be critical in optimizing community well-being.

Lastly, environmental sustainability is a passion for me. I love South St Paul because it gives me that small-town feeling but has the conveniences of being near the big city. I am a nature lover and spend a great deal of time enjoying what nature has to offer - its the place I go to when I need to feel connected and grounded. So much goes into this area; green space, waste reduction, organics, natural energy, clean water... etc. Did you know a concentration of bridges and buildings can absorb heat causing a heat zone, which results in more energy to be used to cool?

I will wrap this up by saying my campaign is centered around community well-being. That's my platform in a nutshell (coffee bean? - haha).

#ilovessp - DEW it! Dependable, Experienced, (Community) Well-being!

bottom of page